Transport and Covid-19: responses and resources

Decarbonising Transport initiative: Partners

The Decarbonising Transport initiative brings together a partnership that extends far beyond the ITF's member countries. The role of participants varies depending on the type of partnerships, each contributing specific assets such as knowledge, data, funding etc. Interaction guidelines set out participation details for each type of partner. An annual meeting of project partners held each May back-to-back with the Summit of transport ministers organised by the ITF, discusses findings and reviews progress against the work plan.

The partners and supporters of the Decarbonising Transport initiative, in addition to the ITF member countries, are from the following eight categories:

Member companies of the ITF Corporate Partnership Board

  • Airbus
  • Allianz Partners
  • Alstom
  • Amazon
  • Aramco
  • AutoCrypt
  • Bosch
  • BP
  • CEiiA 
  • Cruise
  • Enel
  • ExxonMobil
  • Hyundai
  • Iberdrola
  • Kakao Mobility
  • Michelin
  • NXP
  • PTV Group
  • RATP Group
  • Rolls Royce
  • Shell
  • Siemens AG
  • TIER Mobility
  • Total Energies
  • Toyota
  • Trucknet
  • Uber
  • Valeo
  • Voi
  • Volvo Group

Knowledge Partners

  • Clean Air Asia
  • European Conference of Transport Research Institutes (ECTRI)
  • Global Fuel Economy Initiative (GFEI)
  • Institute for Transport and Development Policy (ITDP)
  • Centre International de Recherche sur l'Environnement et le Développement (CIRED)
  • International Council on Clean Transportation (ICCT)
  • International Energy Agency (IEA)
  • International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA)
  • The Korea Transport Institute (KOTI)
  • Partnership on Sustainable Low Carbon Transport (SLoCaT)
  • Smart Freight Centre
  • South-East Europe Transport Observatory (SEETO)
  • Technical University Delft
  • Transport & Environment (T&E)
  • University of California, Davis
  • World Resources Institute (WRI)
  • Wuppertal Institute for Climate, Environment and Energy 

Intergovernmental Organisations

  • Eurocontrol
  • European Commission
  • Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
  • United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC)
  • United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE)
  • United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)
  • United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC)

Multilateral Development Banks

  • Asian Development Bank (ADB)
  • Development Bank of Latin America (CAF)
  • European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD)
  • European Investment Bank (EIB)
  • Inter-American Development Bank Group (IADB)
  • Islamic Development Bank (IsDB)
  • The World Bank 

Professional and sectoral associations

  • Air Transport Action Group (ATAG)
  • Association of the European Rail Industry (UNIFE)
  • European Association for Forwarding, Transport, Logistics and Customs Services (CLECAT)
  • International Federation of Freight Forwarders Associations (FIATA)
  • Community of European Railways (CER)
  • The Association of European Metropolitan Transport Authorities (EMTA)
  • Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA)
  • German Aerospace Center (DLR)
  • International Road Transport Union (IRU)
  • International Union of Railways (UIC)
  • Swedish Shipowners’ Association International
  • Association of Public Transport (UITP)
  • World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD)

Cities, regions

  • Local Governments for Sustainability (ICLEI)
  • POLIS Network
  • Eurocities

Non-Governmental Organisations

  • European Cyclists' Federation (ECF)
  • International Federation of Pedestrians

Foundations and Philanthrophies

  • ClimateWorks Foundation
  • FIA Foundation


Share this page