Transport and Covid-19: responses and resources

Young Researcher of the Year Award 2022


The International Transport Forum at the OECD organises an Annual Summit for Transport Ministers from around the world to meet with researchers, industry leaders and representatives of civil society and examine strategic policy issues facing the sector.

The principal aim of the International Transport Forum’s Young Researcher of the Year Award is to highlight the importance of transport research for sound transport policy formulation and implementation and to foster closer links between transport policy and research. 

The Young Researcher of the Year Award is open to researchers under 35 years of age who have undertaken the research presented in the submitted paper in an institution, university or consultancy firm located in an International Transport Forum member country. The researcher must be the main author of the paper.

The work can be quantitative or qualitative and come from any of the academic fields linked to transport and should be relevant to policy making. The winning paper will propose advances from the current state of knowledge in the domain and be methodologically rigorous.

Papers should not exceed 25 pages (single spacing), excluding references and annexes, and should be in English.

The Prize

Submissions will be examined by an international panel of experts from the transport policy and research sectors, under the aegis of the International Transport Forum.

A prize of EUR 5 000 is awarded to the Young Researcher Award winner. 

2022 Finalists

Malvika Dixit was named the ITF's 2022 Young Researcher of the Year for her unique investigation into how income levels can determine the distance travelled and fares paid on public transport. Ms Dixit received the Award from ITF Secretary-General Young Tae Kim at the Closing Plenary Session of the ITF 2022 Summit on “Transport for Inclusive Societies” on 20 May 2022. Video interviews were conducted with three Young Research Award runners-up, as well as the winner. These showcase the exciting and diverse nature of transport research being conducted by people who will work in the transport space for decades to come.


2022 Media Release: Unequal detours: Breaking public transport’s circuits of inequality

Previous Award Winners

2021: Daniel Jan Reck, ETH Zurich (Media Release)

2020: Anne de Bertoli, University of Patras (Media Release)

2019: Rafael Pereira, Oxford University (Media Release)

2018: George Ursachi, Agilysis (Media Release)

2017: Florent Laroche, Lyon University (Media Release)

2016: Monir Moniruzzaman, University of Toronto (Media Release)

2015: Nihan Akyelken, Oxford University (Media Release)

2014: Shanjiang Zhu, George Mason University

2013: Laura Schewel, UC Berkeley

2012: Wing Yee Winnie Lam, University of Hong Kong

2011: Jonn Axsen, UC Davis

2010: Hossam Abdelgawad, University of Toronto

2009: Jérôme Verny, Rouen School of Management 

Subscribe to ITF updates to stay up-to-date on future awards


Share this page