Transport and Covid-19: responses and resources

Our Structure

The International Transport Forum is designed to be a flexible, efficient and politically responsible institution that creates value for its members. The Forum is administratively integrated into the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), but it is politically autonomous, and many of its member countries are not OECD members.

ITF's main organs are:

Secretariat: The International Transport Forum's secretariat is based at the OECD in Paris (France). It is led by the Secretary-General and comprises Research and Policy Analysis, Institutional Relations and Summit, Communications, and the Central Management Unit.

Presidency: The Presidency of the International Transport Forum revolves annually among member countries. The Presidency chairs the Council of Ministers of Transport and the Transport Management Board meetings and has a leading role in organising the Annual Summit taking place during its tenure. The presidency in 2019/20 is held by Ireland, with Morocco the United Kingdom as Vice-Presidencies.

Council of Ministers of Transport (CMT): The Council is the ITF’s highest decision-making organ. It unites the Ministers of member countries at the Ministerial Session during the Annual Summit, held in May of each year.

Transport Management Board: The Transport Management Board (TMB) gives direction to the work of the Forum. It consists of the representatives of the member countries and meets at least twice per year. The TMB is chaired by the Presidency country.

Task Force: To help the Presidency plan the Annual Summit, a small Task Force is formed from TMB members. In preparing the Summit, the Task Force also may draw upon the Research Centre, special ad hoc projects groups and policy networks, as well as on consultations with stakeholders.

Research and Policy Analysis: The Transport Research Centre provides input for the Annual Summit and organises longer-term research projects under the oversight of member countries' transport ministries and research agencies through the Transport Research Committee (TRC).

Road Transport Group: The Road Transport Group manages the Multilateral Quota of European freight transport licences. It oversees distribution of licences by the Member countries and monitors compliance with the rules of Quota functioning.

Corporate Partnership Board: The CPB is the organisation’s platform for dialogue with business. Created in 2013 to enrich global policy discussions with a private sector perspective, it brings together companies with a clear international perspective in their activities that play an active role in transport and associated sectors.

Share this page